Ticket ‘master’

I registered with Frontier Touring last week so I could get in early to buy tickets for Kylie Minogue and they went on ‘pre-sale’ this morning.

The whole idea of pre-sale seems a bit odd. If all you have to do is take 30 seconds to register online with Ticketmaster, and assuming most people would buy tickets online, then it hardly qualifies for a pre-sale, it’s really just ‘tickets on sale’.

I hope to hell the seats were the premium ones available because I’ll be mighty pissed if they have better ones on Monday!

Ticketmaster have developed a convoluted method of buying tickets, you get a couple of drop down boxes to select what price you will stomach (anyone remember when tickets for these events cost $40-60?) then type in some words as part of the spam blocker, then a computer program randomly selects your seats, and no, not a selection of options, but the number of seats you selected, you then have to work out from a rough floor plan where these seats are and whether you want them.

In this day and age this is bollocks. Surely any 19 year old programmer could come up with a piece ticket selling software that would allow you to select your own seat? I fail to see how them randomly assigning you a seat is a good thing for me the customer. It’s bloody irritating because what I really want to know is what seats are left, and which are the best ones and then I should be allowed to choose them myself. 

Village cinemas have software to do this, and it prevents you from leaving a gap between you and the next seat. If it’s good enough for an $18 movie ticket, then it’s good enough for $150 concert ticket!

I printed out the seat layout of the Vector Arena which give you a rough idea of the seating, but the seats I reckoned were the ideal seats weren’t available and I was in at 9:00am on the dot so they can’t have sold that quickly. It makes me wonder whether the arena is going to be laid out differently, or those seats are pre-pre-sold or being kept for later.

I would give Ticketmaster’s purchasing software a big thumbs down.

It’s 2008 people, I should be able to pick my own seats (I’m a grown up) online.

If Tickemaster can allow me to print out my own ticket and relieve me of hundreds of dollars, they can allow me to pick my own seat.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

