Happy Birthday Bush!

Kate Bush that is (sorry all those GWB fans out there).

I see she turned 50 today, 50! time flies. Well I thought I would go onto you tube and take a look at some of the classics, and.. they were… well pretty embarrassing really. No doubt there will be some artists now cringing at their work in 20 years time, come to think of it, some of them don’t even have to wait that long.

Anyway, I like her older material, and I know when I was young I fancied the hell out of her, no botox in those days, that pout was 100% natural!

Despite her eclectic style she seems remarkably well balanced compared to other successful female singer/writers – yes, back then when leg warmers and leotards were the rage, they not only looked hot, but wrote and produced their own music too.

 

  1. Yes she is a very original and compelling songwriter. Most people watch the music video “Wuthering Heights” and get totally turned off Kate Bush but she is much more than that! Yay 50!

    • Brice Buchanan
    • April 15th, 2009

    Actually, she’s been touched with genius. I offer The Dreaming as Exhibit A.

    • John
    • January 26th, 2010

    Hear hear! I am in my 30’s and while I was present for some parts of the 70’s and 80’s I wish to make it clear that I took no part in the wrong doing. Despite that, for some reason, recently I have taken a serious liking to Kate Bush. Her videos …. well I won’t even start. And in the only one that hasn’t aged poorly she plays a little girl! Sigh. But as you put it, I fancy her big time! There are not enough authentic, original thinking people out there who are getting a little bit of the spotlight these days.
    Cheers from a fellow Bush-lover!

    • Oisin
    • March 15th, 2010

    Ahh, she is. But words doesn’t quite seem to catch it. Deceptily elusive. Earthy yet spiritual. Sturdy and fragile. In her music and songtexts, that is. Got a crush on her since the moment Wuthering Heights hit the tv.

    Would like to know her. Maybe in a next live.

    • Alan
    • October 14th, 2010

    An unforgettable mix of performance, classic appreciation
    and interpretation and beauty. One hell of a distraction for a
    teenager who was only able to get to the audience. How I would love
    to know a mind that turns classic stories and grandmothers into
    sensual song, at a time when not too many songs had much meaning at
    all. My immortal kate. live long and be happy.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

